Thursday, July 7, 2022

Fonterra election results announced

Blue Read has been elected to the Fonterra board of directors.

As well as adding Read, shareholders voted to re-elect incumbent directors John Wilson and Nicola Shadbolt,’s Warwick Lampp said when announcing the results of Fonterra’s 2012 Directors’ Remuneration Committee and Shareholders’ Council elections.

Read, 57, was previously chairman of the Fonterra Shareholders’ Council, from 2007-10, having been a Shareholders’ Councillor since 2003.  

He is the current New Zealand Co-operative Business Association chairman and has previously been the chairman of the Taranaki Dairy Section of Federated Farmers and New Zealand Sharemilkers Association.

Shareholders Rodney Wilson and David Gasquoine were elected unopposed as members of the Directors’ Remuneration Committee.

In the Shareholders’ Council elections, the following Shareholders’ Councillors were elected:
Ward 8 – Hamilton                                 Graham Barlow
Ward 9 – Morrinsville                             Malcolm Piggott
Ward 17 – Eastern Bay of Plenty           Robin Barkla
Ward 23 – Egmont Plains                      Rob Poole
Ward 32 – Southern Canterbury              Greg Kirkwood

In the nine other Shareholders’ Council wards where elections were due, nominees were elected unopposed.  The councillors in those wards are:
Ward 2 – Whangarei                                Alex Wright
Ward 4 – Southern Northland                   Tracey Bryan
Ward 5 – South Auckland                        Bill Millar
Ward 11 – Western Bay of Plenty             Murray Linton
Ward 14 – Te Awamutu                            Kevin Ferris
Ward 20 – Northern Taranaki                    Kevin Turnbull
Ward 26 – Hawke’s Bay                           Sandra Cordell
Ward 29 – Tasman Marlborough               Evan Baigent
Ward 35 – Western Southland                  Vaughan Templeton

More articles on this topic