Saturday, December 9, 2023

Four Kiwis in line for award

Avatar photo
Australasia’s agricultural badge of honour, the Zanda McDonald Award, has named six finalists for the 2020 award.
Reading Time: 2 minutes

The trans-Tasman award had a record number of entries this year, its sixth. It recognises talented and passionate young professionals working in agriculture.

The four New Zealand and two Australian finalists were selected for their passion for the industry, strong leadership skills and their contributions to the primary sector. 

The New Zealanders are Scott Harpham, 27, Pamu Farms’ Southland senior business manager with over 200,000 stock units, Jack Raharuhi, 27, Pamu’s Buller dairy group operations manager in Westport and winner of the 2016 Ahuwhenua Young Maori Farmer of the Year, James Robertson, 22, a Fonterra sales graduate and 2019 Young Farmer of the Year and Nigel Woodhead, 31, a sheep and beef farmer from Milton and Young Farmer of the Year Award board member.

The Australian candidates are Michael Graham, 33, central southwest New South Wales general manager for Paraway Pastoral Company and Dr Elle Moyle, 29, district veterinarian for Agriculture Victoria and owner/operator of a sheep and beef farm at Hamilton.

The six will be interviewed in Wellington next month, and reduced down to three. 

Award chairman and Platinum Primary Producers member Richard Rains, Award Chairman and member of the Platinum Primary Producers said “Yet again we’ve been blown away by the talent and capabilities of those that have applied. 

“We feel really confident that the future of agriculture is in safe hands with the next generation. 

“This years’ shortlist demonstrates the traits we’re looking for including ambition, passion and a desire to make their mark on the industry.”

The winner gets a personal development package, including mentoring with industry leaders, $2000 cash and travel that includes chartered flights on a private jet to reach remote and diverse farming operations around Australasia.

The three finalists will be announced in November and will attend the PPP conference in Christchurch in March when winner will be named.

People are also reading