Saturday, December 2, 2023

Rural Women business awards entries open

Avatar photo
Each year, the judges are impressed, and often humbled, by the quality of the entrants.
Creative arts came up trumps for Amelia Guild-Dunbar, who received the 2022 supreme award in the NZI-RWNZ business awards.
Reading Time: 2 minutes

Entries are open for the prestigious NZI-Rural Women New Zealand business awards.

Celebrating the achievements of rural women and their enterprises, the awards are one of the highlights on Rural Women New Zealand’s (RWNZ) annual calendar of events.

Despite the challenges of the past few years, the number of entrants in the awards has increased every year, as has the diversity of the enterprises represented in their entries.

“This is an excellent indicator of the incredibly dynamic role that entrepreneurial rural women play in building sustainable and resilient rural communities and economies,” RWNZ national president Gill Naylor said.

“Each year, we get feedback from the entrants on how much they learn about themselves and their businesses by taking part in these awards, so if you are a rural businesswoman, enter, or if you know a rural businesswoman who should be recognised for her achievements, encourage her to enter.”

NZI’s executive manager agencies and schemes Christina Chellew said NZI is delighted to support the NZ Business Awards as premier partner and to recognise and promote innovative and hardworking rural women. 

“Each year, the judges are impressed, and often humbled, by the quality of the entrants and we have no doubt there will be another impressive showing this year.

“The awards night is always a great celebration and reminder that rural women continue to be a formidable force in ensuring our rural communities remain resilient, prosperous and ready for whatever the future brings and that’s something we are always very proud to be a part of,” Chellew said.

The seven awards categories include emerging business, love of the land, creative arts, rural health and wellbeing, rural champion, innovation and bountiful table.

Entries close on July 28 with the category winners announced in early October and the overall supreme winner crowned at the RWNZ – NZ Business Awards function in Christchurch on November 24. 

For more information and details on how to enter visit RWNZ’s website.

People are also reading