Friday, February 23, 2024

Bouskill holds line for fourth straight year

Avatar photo
Favourite triumphs as fencing competition enthralls Fieldays crowd.
Tony Bouskill collects his prize at the New Zealand Fencing Competition at Fieldays – the fourth year in a row he has won the Golden Pliers.
Reading Time: 2 minutes

Reigning champion Tony Bouskill went wire to wire at Mystery Creek last week, again winning the Golden Pliers singles title at the New Zealand Fencing Competition. It was his fourth win in a row.

Sander Visser working hard to take the top spot in the Bill Schuler competition, named after legendary Waikato-born fencer Bill Schuler, who died in 2018.

Bouskill was the one to beat this year as a display of teamwork and dedication from him and his father Shane Bouskill also clinched the Fieldays Silver Spades Doubles Championship. 

The pair competed and won the same championship and award in 2017, 2019 and 2021.

Organisers said the standard of the Fieldays competition – organised by the NZ Fencing Competition (NZFC) – improves each year, as does the number of visitors eager to watch as competitors hash it out for the top fencing spots, this time in the December sun.

The winners and finalists for this years competitions are:

Golden Pliers Singles Championship by WIREMARK

1st Tony Bouskill

2nd Jeff Joines

3rd Cory Twigley

4th Tim Garrick

5th Matt Jones

6th Wilton Weeks

7th Shay Robertson

8th Martin Leveridge

Photo: Fieldays/Facebook

Best Quality Tony Bouskill Nick Liefting

First off the line trophy Tim Garrick

Fieldays Silver Spades Doubles Championship

1st Shane Bouskill & Tony Bouskill

2nd Tim Garrick & Cory Twigley

3rd Matt Jones & Jeff Joines

4th Jared Nicholson & Wilton Weeks

5th Jayden Hart & Michael Trott

6th Sander Visser & Bernard Condon-Orr

7th Sean OHalloran & Nathaniel Hoskin

Photo: Fieldays/Facebook

Bill Schuler competition

1st Sander Visser

2nd Sean OHalloran

3rd Michael Trott

4th Jayden Hart

5th Troy Brooky

6th Bernard Condon-Orr

7th Nathaniel Hoskin

8th Rawhitiroa Paikea

9th Cameron Phillips

Best first year Sander Visser

Best second year Bernard Condon-Or