Saturday, December 2, 2023

South Otago rural health entities join forces

Avatar photo
Five services sign up to ‘collaborative network’.
Parties to the Clutha District Health Network’s memorandum of understanding are, from left rear, Gaye Cowie (Tuapeka Community Health Company), Gary Reed (Clutha Health First) and Dale Wyber (Milton Community Health Trust) and, in front from left, Allister Body (West Otago Health) and Hilary McNab (Catlins Medical Centre, 2017).
Reading Time: < 1 minute

Five independent South Otago rural health providers have created a collaborative network to advance joint initiatives, the sharing of knowledge and to provide mutual support.

The five parties to the Clutha District Health Network memorandum of understanding are all community owned and governed to provide primary and secondary health services to 19,000 people.

The parties are Catlins Medical Centre (2017), Clutha Community Health Company, trading as Clutha Health First, Milton Community Health Trust, Tuapeka Community Health Company and West Otago Health.

Each will retain their identity and autonomy but the parties will regularly communicate to share updates, co-ordinate activities and exchange relevant information.

Allister Body, the network’s interim chair, said the move will allow the entities to leverage the advantages of working collaboratively to enhance the delivery of the national Healthy Futures Strategy (Pae Ora).

That strategy seeks to establish a health system that is equitable, accessible, cohesive and people centred.

It also aims to achieve health equity for groups that currently have poorer outcomes, and to improve health outcomes for all New Zealanders.